Skip to content

The day my visa was approved

May 21, 2009

is also the day Kellogg updated my status and dropped me from the wait list. Surprisingly, I wasn’t heartbroken. Probably because I have got closer to Emory in the last 4 months since my acceptance and am extremely happy to be going there, and grateful for the affordability. Kellogg has, however, been the jewel of my application process. I feel enriched from the experience and from the brief yet wonderful association with a school I would have loved to be a part of. Thank you. The closure was necessary.

Its Emory all the way from here.

——-

So I was telling you about my visa interview experience. My kid, usually quiet when among people, began to wail upon noticing that the visa hall was unnervingly silent. We had to take him out and wheedle him for quite some time before he permitted us to enter the hall again. Without a long wait and after begging our kid not to shriek during the interview, it was our turn to face the Visa Officer. He seemed to be pretty happy about something, not sure what. The last time I had faced a US visa interview, it had lasted barely 10 seconds, but this time around the VO was taking his time to type a lot of information, and his first question to us came after about a minute or so. During all his questions, he looked us straight in the eyes and I think never blinked. After a few expected questions and my kid growing restless again, he felt satisfied with the interview and announced that our visas had been approved.

So that marks the final lap of my MBA applications, and its about 8 weeks before I become a student again. There are a number of things on my list vying for my attention, and I better comply. There’s also this feeling that the time for an MBA is going to arrive, finally. So much for getting upto here; so much, to look forward to.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 10:05 pm

    Congo for completing the final lap… šŸ˜€
    Recently even I posted bout my Visa Interview…!!!

  2. May 22, 2009 7:39 am

    Congrats! Time to get ready for the F1 laps now šŸ™‚

  3. May 23, 2009 1:28 pm

    Hey, congratulations. I haven’t following the blogging world for a while.

    Sorry to hear about Kellogg. I was really hoping for you to get in. Anyways, Emory is great place too. I am sure you will have fun.

  4. May 24, 2009 12:51 pm

    Hey Congratulations! šŸ™‚ I received Emory’s graduation pics a few days back. I thought I’d share them with you but realized that I don’t have your email-id. Mail me if you can. šŸ™‚

  5. May 28, 2009 9:16 pm

    Hi , have been following ur blog for quite some time now. You’ve done some commendable work here.
    I’ve started my own journey trail too and hope you can give me some advice on which tests to take for practice on GMAT. I’ve got my GMAT in less than 3 weeks.

    Thanks
    Dreamer

  6. Ashi permalink
    May 30, 2009 12:03 am

    Hey!! Congrats on the F1!! Really sorry to hear about your K waitlist. I was sure you’d make it though šŸ˜¦ Still a 100% schol beats out studying under debt!!

Trackbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

Leave a Reply

