Skip to content

Frugally inclined

April 15, 2009

This post is about money. (Rather, lack of it.)

Hindu mythology has a penchant for Gods and Goddesses. Two very prominent Goddesses worshipped are ‘Lakshmi’ – the Goddess of wealth/fortune, and ‘Saraswati’ – the Goddess of learning/knowledge. Mythology suggests that both do not visit a house together. My MBA goes a step further in bolstering the myth. The closer I get towards beginning my MBA, the more I can sense the departure of any form of monetary wealth from my life. (So I hope I’m at least getting closer to a fountain of learning that’ll wash all my ignorance away).

The symptoms came to the fore recently. I had been trying(hard) to get my Finances in shape to send the documents required for the processing of my I-20, when the reality struck me – for the next 2 years, there are going to be NO credits into my bank account. No, not even the non-cosignor loan since it does not exist so far. So while I’d like to learn how Accounting can balance my debits with credits, I will be witness to a slow yet steady trickle of all my savings so far. Standing in a queue to get a letter from my bank detailing my account details, I realized what a neat little Case Study I had gotten myself into. When a halt in Operations (job) stagnates my bank account, with no assurance of a positive cash flow through loans and hence diminishing of my Finances, what Strategy should I use to still remain in Business (alive) for the next 2 years ?

I need to go LEAN. Cut all the expenditures that do not add value to my MBA or my career. Examples include, among other things, not sponsoring/visiting any form of hang outs with friends or colleagues that involve a share from my purse, not purchasing books/music/movies for the meantime, and saving on fuel and negative opportunity costs (shopping) by postponing the trips to the market with some novel excuse or the other to my family everytime.

I think I just went MEAN, instead of LEAN.

Never before have I spent so much as I’m bound to spend to complete my MBA. Hence, never before have I been so frugally inclined as I am fast becoming now.
Whats a risk worth if it doesn’t drain all your money out ? After all, true wealth is what remains when money doesn’t.

(That said, I can do with some false wealth now).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. missionmba permalink
    April 15, 2009 10:47 pm

    It’s been a bit different for me.. Though I too want to save all the money in the world, but in reality, money has been flowing (out :-o) like anything.. Have been trying to live life to full b4 leaving for the states..
    Another reason I am allowing myself this luxury is the way I am looking at things: If the loan materialises anyhow, I need not worry about spending a couple of thousands (INR) and enjoying my life.. And it doesn’t (God forbid!!), then in any case I won’t be able to make it to the school..

  2. April 18, 2009 6:42 am

    I couldn’t agree more dude, but the risk is sooooooo worth taking (can say from that from others’ experiences;))…Enjoy urself, hope everything works out for you 🙂

    Congrats on the BoB nomination, it just confirms what we’ve known all along…this is a great blog!

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    April 20, 2009 12:33 pm

    Thanks POD.

Trackbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

Leave a Reply

