Skip to content

Downers Grove

April 9, 2009
tags:

Just when I decide to take a break and think for a few days of things other than an MBA, life has a way of becoming more interesting.

My wife informs me that she needs to move to Downers Grove in the US for an assignment.
‘Downers Grove ? Where’s that ? Check how far is it from Atlanta ?’
‘Yes it seems quite far, not somewhere you can drive and reach for a weekend. Its in Illinois.’
‘Illinois ?’ I react, wondering why my ears aren’t as sharp as they used to be. ‘Did you just say Illinois ?’
‘Yes.’

I am struck; the way you get struck by a lightning, with the thunder roaring in your head a few seconds afterwards. A quick search over the net tells me Evanston is only a few miles from Downers Grove.

Kellogg!

And then it strikes her as well.

There’s hardly a thing I can say to her. My family is moving to where I wanted to be, and here I am, typing this. And thinking. Whats next ?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 6:26 pm

    I could just smile after reading this ! If I talk about my professional life then entrepreneurship gets surprises for me every morning. And I have had some grand journey of surprises in my personal life. 🙂

    Keep your fingers crossed for Emory, who knows you may have the time of your life there.

    Ummm …What next?

    May be just tell your wife, “Darling! I’ll be following you. ” 😉

  2. monkbent permalink
    April 10, 2009 12:52 am

    Tell Kellogg. It just might be enough to get off the waitlist…

  3. Saurabh permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:28 pm

    International Village!! Go downers Grove.
    Need any help let me know! Lived in DG for 2yrs.

Leave a Reply

