Skip to content

Vacation time

April 7, 2009

What costs you a lot of money for 2 years, changes the way you think, and makes you question whether the risk was worth taking?

First two years of marriage.

Ok that was a silly joke, but I bet you thought the answer was MBA. This is what happens when you eat, live, and breathe MBA, and are so consumed by it that it begins to rule your life. Researching the MBA programs and trolling the forums become not just your favourite hobby but also an obsession. Now that this stage is almost over for me, I’m trying to make the most of the time I have before school begins. However there are a lot of things to be taken care of first, arranging the funds and getting my F1 visa being the priority. I hope I can complete that process and get the visa by early May to be sure of heading for an MBA before I finally put in my papers at work.

My mind will be on a vacation this week and not think about the MBA. I’ve been strict with my blog with every post so far having MBA as the theme, and thats a rule I don’t intend to break. Despite the urge to discuss movies. Cos trust me, its not easy for me to stop once I get started with the movies. So I’ll digress just once and leave you with the following recommendations if you’re interested in movies outside the Hollywood –
Waltz with Bashir – simply amazing. Have never seen an animated movie before that’s as powerful in its impact, and I’ve seen some. Its a movie about the horrors of war, and the only time the visuals shift from animation to reality will leave you gasping. Rates extremely high on style and narration.
Children of Heaven – a trademark Majid Majidi movie where the style lies in its simplicity. Not his best but one of them.
– In the mood for love – Wong Kar Wai is one of my favourite directors and I hope he continues to make more such movies. Arty and not for everyone, but if you like this one, we share our movie tastes.
City of God – I hope you’ve seen this one, and if not, do so now! It doesn’t get better than this and is definitely on my top ten list of all times.

So until next week, when it will resume its preoccupation with all things MBA, wish my mind a happy vacation!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 2:17 pm

    Yesterday only I was making a list of movies that I have to (must) watch so that my husband stops mocking at me by saying stuff like ” shame on you, you have not seen this movie and that one as well..!!” Err… Although we share same taste for movies, books, comics etc. but he has always been quicker than me. The hilarious part is that ultimately he only ends up spending moolah over buying movies for me so I am in a win-win situation anyways. 😀

    Watching the Die Hard series these days. Ahh! watched “Welcome to Sajjanpur!” the other day- Hilarious, a very differnt kind of comedy but just loved it!

    City of God was one movie that really shook me hard. Hats Off!

    You have a great vacation.

  2. ahembeea permalink*
    April 7, 2009 2:35 pm

    Dagny – so there’s a lot of sense in letting things remain the way they are 🙂 Sajjanpur is definitely one of the best movies from last year. It has the scathing, pinching humour with which we’ve begun to acknowledge the realities of our nation, and it works well.I’m a fan of the Die Hard series too, it just keeps getting bigger and better.

    Its only my mind thats on a vacation. Detox mode 🙂

  3. The.Grey.One permalink
    April 7, 2009 4:53 pm

    If you liked “In the mood for love”, you should also try “2046” and also “chungking Express”.

  4. April 8, 2009 5:30 am

    Ha, ha! Great joke!

  5. April 8, 2009 3:05 pm

    Nice thoughts ……..a good rest is required after a long and well fough battle……..

Leave a Reply

