Skip to content

On Blogging

April 1, 2009
tags:

I wonder how people used to share their MBA journeys in the pre-internet era. Or how applicants used to gather all the tidbits about their school choices. Or how applicants used to do anything for that matter. Sitting thousands of miles away from my prospective schools last year, I placed my utmost trust in the medium best known for disregarding boundaries. The net invariably has loads and cloud-loads of data ready to be presented to you at the click of an Enter, but it still does not come close to doing a good job in telling you how to make sense of it all.
Thank God for that. Its what still keeps our brains busy.

I feel the best way to discover a school without actually studying there is to be a partner on campus of someone who does. Given the obvious constraints that such an option pose, the second best option is to have one of your close relatives study there. People do generally go for the third best option, which is finding a friend or a friend’s friend or a relative’s friend who is a student there or has been a part of this school before. The fourth option exists for someone who’s unfortunate to have an acquaintance anywhere, who would rather want an objective view of the school, or who generally excels at placing ambiguous pieces of information together.  This option deifies the internet as the saviour and requires a good internet connection and hours of patience. Great are those who get accepted without bothering to waste their time on the internet.

A fifth, more refined, and in my opinion most insightful option exists which is an offshoot of the previous option. Cutting the long story short, I’m talking about blogs. The blogs by past and current students and applicants, as well as those hosted by the schools and consultants, have provided me the best window into the journey called MBA. They go beyond the formal tone that needs to be maintained on the school’s websites, and you get the version as it is, and not packaged cleverly through jargon and colours that you can’t help but be attracted to. Blogs are real. Or at least, thats the way they should be.

I wish more B Schoolers blogged. I wish blogging was made mandatory and they could earn some credits for it. It could be a school’s best way to present information about itself to prospective students and bring them closer. If I as an applicant could read through literally scores of blog journals about life at a B school, it would give me a so much better idea about what makes that school tick and what kind of people comprise the batch. Today there are only a handful bloggers from every school and its not wise to judge a school based on limited points of views. Still, I write this post to thank everyone behind the hundreds of blogs I must have read which aided my pursuit towards a B School. Despite what an MBA does to a student, I hope to keep up the tradition while I’m in school and continue to give you all a slice of my experience with how an MBA is made.

If you are an applicant for the upcoming admission cycles, I would encourage you to blog. It helps in sorting the pieces of puzzles flying around in your head when you begin, offers a community of bloggers and others with whom you can interact during the journey, and makes good use of your otherwise wasted time. It is also medically linked with some therapeutic effects, but more than that, blog for the sheer pleasure of coming back years later to the child steps you took today to achieve what you did and become what you are.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2009 7:58 pm

    Completely agree on how blogging has helped the process.

  2. April 3, 2009 1:36 am

    Very much agree. I wish I had started blogging earlier in the process.

  3. April 6, 2009 7:20 pm

    any news on which school?

  4. ahembeea permalink*
    April 6, 2009 8:15 pm

    D.G. – well its not Kellogg, yet. I think the law of averages is responsible so as not to send so many bloggers to K !! Still, hoping despite hope.

  5. April 6, 2009 8:39 pm

    that’s unfortunate. got my fingers crossed for you.

  6. April 7, 2009 12:16 am

    I agree with you completely on that as far as possible, every applicant/b school student should maintain a blog. Having said that, I would like to leave that as ‘should’ and not ‘have to’. Blogging being made mandatory will not only take the fun out of it, but will add an entirely unnecessary element to the whole scenario. It will be nice to have this aspect of bschool life kept out of the class credits equation.

    Keep writing! 🙂

  7. ahembeea permalink*
    April 7, 2009 1:31 pm

    POD – Agree with you and thats what I believe as well. I said ‘should’ to make it sound compelling! All the best for the reincarnated journey this time around 🙂

Leave a Reply

