Skip to content

When they don’t have a clue

February 26, 2009

S1 – smartass1, S2 – smartass2, P – puzzled guy, S – serious guy, A – ahembeea

Location – Office canteen
———————–
S1 (with a wry smile) – So A, we heard you’re going somewhere ?
S2 – Of course, he’s going for an MBA.
P – But going where ?
S2 – to the US of A
S1 – USA! During these times ? A, are you serious?
S2 – No, serious is S. hahaha
S (looks at S2 from the corner of his eyes) – hmm.
S1 – No tell us A, are you really serious?
A – what makes you think I’m not ?
P – So, are you serious or are you not ?
A – guys, I’m headed to USA for my MBA, and I’m pretty serious about it.
S2 – whats pretty about it? Are you not scared of the economy?
S1 – and of coming back without a job? Whosoever thinks of going to US in such days?
P – A does ?
A – you are right P. I do. Yes It is a bit, what can I say, risky, but not as scary as you’re making it out to be. Plus guys, look at it this way – what would last longer for me – the recession, or my MBA ?
S2 – Whatever you say, its not cool. By the way, which school ?
A – Its the MBA school at the Emory University in Atlanta.
P – Em o ree ? What does it mean ?
S1 – Proper noun P. It need not mean anything. Whats the school called ?
A – Its called – (slowly) – Goi-swet-ah Business School.
S1 – Its called what ? What does it mean ?
P – Proper noun S1. It need not mean anything. Hahahaha.
S1 – shutup P! Save your wits so that it lasts longer.
S2 – So A, are you sure ?
A – about ? joining this program ?
S2 – no, about having gone nuts?! Ok tell me, why this school and not any other.
S – thats his choice. I guess we should change the topic now.
S2 – ok just answer this one A. Why this school and not any other ? Whats its rank ?
P – Rank ? The schools are ranked there ?
S1 – Yes P. Have you heard of Harvard ? Its at the top.
P – Of course I have heard of Harvard. Who hasn’t ?
S2 – We thought you hadn’t. hahahaha (S1 & S2)
A – Guys, what are you trying to say ? Do you even know how the process works ? Can you name me 5 schools other than Harvard?
S1 – Yep. Thats easy. Stanford is there. And Wharton.
A – and ? thats it ?
S1 – Yeah, I guess so? I mean, there are dozens of schools out there, but who goes to them?
S2 – No S1, that isn’t true. We know at least one guy who goes to them.
P – who ?
A – guys, chuck it. I’d suggest spend some of your free surfing time in doing something productive today and look up some of the websites of the other programs. At least you won’t sound so naive again.
S – Can we please change the topic ?
P – I didn’t like slumdog. Did you S ?
S1 – Lets ask A. Did you like slumdog ?
S2 – yeeah. A, which part did you like more?
A – what do you mean which part ?
S2 – I mean, the slumdog part, or the millionaire part ? hahaha
S – so A, when are you leaving ?
S1 – S! don’t change the topic!
A – I’ll leave soon, S. Hundreds of things to take care of. It ain’t that easy but I’m getting there.
S – what about the funds? Must be difficult ?
S2 – Thats why I asked, what did you like more, the millionaire or the slumdog!
S1 – Our friend A is very rich. To think of an MBA from the US!
A – cut it guys. You know nothing about how difficult things are this year. Anyways I got to get back at work.
S2 – P, so are you thinking of following in A’s footsteps this year?
P – Am I ?
A – Guys, I’ll explain the entire process to you someday. That is, provided you are interested and serious about it.
S1 – So A, you’re leaving us. When do we get a treat from you?
P – treat! Yes!
S2 – Yes A! A treat is due. I mean, come on, I don’t know anyone who’s gone recently to US for an MBA. That too from Em o ree. It calls for a treat, right ?
S – We can go this friday. Ok with you, A ?
A – We can do it later, I still have some months before I leave.
S1 – no problem, we can have it again when you leave. For now, its this friday.
A – ok we’ll see. I’ll let you know. Now lets get back to our seats.
P – A, was it through GMAT ? My cousin’s friend scored some 920 or something, and my cousin was like – he wanted to score better than that. Any tips for my cousin ?
A – Yes, tell your cousin that even a few points below his friend’s should be good for him.
P – What do you mean ?
S – Can we change the topic ?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2009 4:45 pm

    lols – this is quite interesting.. esp the comments on gmat and the s/ w schools.. it’s ok half the ppl don’t know of any other place. and in regions outside the U.S., people only know of say, kellogg (s) as a cereal!!!!

  2. February 26, 2009 8:24 pm

    Hahahahaha, HILARIOUS!!! I can understand your frustration man, its why a wise woman said you should always start a blog when starting your b-school applications – cause it is we who live, breathe and feel this process. Chuck the crap and go enjoy the sweet GBS deal you’ve earned yourself. Despite a sub-920 GMAT!!! 🙂

  3. February 27, 2009 7:45 pm

    Hi, Have been following your blog on and off. Just wanted to say I really had a good laugh reading this post! I’ve had similar conversations since I decided to go for my MBA this fall as well… even though I’m in the US already. 🙂 Good luck at Emory!

  4. Coronet permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:43 pm

    This could almost be a day in my life – down to the smallest detail like ‘going for a treat’!! 😀

  5. anon permalink
    March 4, 2009 3:33 am

    I am an avid reader of your blog and you always sonded mature in your blog except in this post.

    You sounded like someone who thinks that they achieved the greatest just by the virtue of attending US B-school. The conversation sounded like a tug of war. They trying to prove that they are in place and you trying to prove that you are going to right place.

  6. Jessica permalink
    March 4, 2009 5:04 am

    So are you going to Emory for sure? Have you pulled yourself off of the waitlists?

  7. ahembeea permalink*
    March 4, 2009 8:26 am

    Anon – All that maturity was getting to me, I thought I could do with some less. A tug of war it is, my mind being the playing field. Keep coming back for more 🙂

    Choc – plus they don’t know how expensive that cereal is!

    Almighty – thx, to you and the wise woman!

    Felish – good luck to you as well.

    Coronet – they can’t live without a treat, can they?

    Jessica – I’m waiting for Kellogg to throw a miracle.

  8. Manish permalink
    April 20, 2009 12:33 pm

    Man, that was really hilarious. I salute your patience to stand ground for so long without cutting it out earlier 🙂

Leave a Reply

