Skip to content

Wait, listen

January 15, 2009

Despite what schools might think, its not a game. Its not a game to waitlist applicants and then wait to see how things pan out. When one applies in Round 1, it means getting a decision by the R1 decision deadline is also an important factor. One cannot continue to tread this nerve-wrecking, anti-socializing, no-time-for-family-or-anything-else process for a year. I didn’t bargain for the process that started in June 2008 to continue until June 2009. And this is just the process that began after the schools were finalized as my first choice; the amount of time that went into that selection is another story.

Going to school is a major decision. A lot of things need to be taken care of. It would definitely help to know whether I went wrong with my school selection if I get a ding. What does not help at this point is that all schools where I think I fitted well have chosen to waitlist me. Couldn’t they find enough things wrong to go ahead and ding me ? Ask Wharton and INSEAD please, at least they were ruthless enough.

Do you think its easy for an international applicant even after an admit ? There are so many damn things to be taken care of. And wouldn’t I have applied in R2 myself had I wanted to be compared with the rest of the applicants?

Even if I make it from here, I might never feel the kind of connect and fit I felt before, because by waitlisting me you have shown that I am not your first choice. Love is a two way street, its as important to me as it is to you.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 1:11 pm

    Wow 3 waitlists, and from the most powerful of them all – Kellogg, Ross and Tuck. On one hand I really feel you, on the other I am amazed at the consistency. Looks like schools do follow some scientific approach to this game of MBA admissions.

    Anyways, you now have the Jack, Queen and King ready, with the Ace (IIMC) already set. Hopefully the 3 colored cards to get converted to Aces – and it’ll be game, set, match! Good Luck and keep the faith!

  2. January 15, 2009 1:12 pm

    I can understand what you are going through. I have been waitlisted too.

    The news is certainly more positive than a ding but the process is so much more painful.

    I hear that they have waitlisted a whole bunch of people but I also know a good number of admits who are not gonna accept their offers from Ross.

    At this point, we can do nothing but wait.

  3. January 15, 2009 3:17 pm

    I’m with you bro… got my ROSS wait list intimation too

  4. poseidon permalink
    January 15, 2009 5:28 pm

    enjoy dude :). When i was wait-listed at Wharton i thought Ross would be an easy ride for me. But i was wrong, i am wait listed at Ross as well. I feel US b-schools play with Indian applicants. They continue to encourage us to apply so that they can improve their yield and acceptance rates. It is we who lack confidence in our own institutions and are desperate to go there. And the schools very well cash this desperation.

    Chill out and have a beer! Being from IIT, i can confidently say that education doesn’t play a crucial role in your professional success.

  5. January 15, 2009 9:45 pm

    Sorry to hear that you were waitlisted. I know that it can be difficult not knowing when you will hear back and from whom. But to Ashwanth’s point, there are a number of admits who will not end up coming to Ross. I do hope that you continue to stay connected to the school – through the waitlist chat on January 22 at 1 pm EST, or through the Google Group. We have also launched a Ross Facebook that might be a good tool for you to connect with current students or hopefuls about the process.

    If you want to talk more about the waitlist process or your fit at Ross, please shoot me a note. All the best.

    Matt

  6. ahembeea permalink*
    January 15, 2009 10:46 pm

    MBAlmighty – your comment wins the ‘best comment of the year’ award! lol

    Ashwanth, Raghu – lets hope we make it soon to Ross, they dont have too many bloggers there!

    Poseidon – Well we need to bow to the market, we all know what we’re getting into before we dive into the application process. Anyways, a beer always works!

    Matt – thanks as always. Hope things work out and I get the good news soon!!

  7. praz permalink
    January 15, 2009 10:57 pm

    Tough man! At least u got an admit but I can imagine the frustration. I hope you get an admit from one of these soon and travel to usa in 09 🙂

  8. Isabelle permalink
    January 16, 2009 2:12 am

    Hi-please don’t lose hope. Hold on to your objective, your goal, your life changing experience. Honestly, you need to get over your disappointment, it doesn’t matter how you get into an MBA, if you are given the chance to enroll into one of those top US schools, do it, however hard it is to get in, even if it’s frustrating, don’t give up, keep working. You’ll show them what you’re worth once you’re inside, you’ll make it work for you, but right now, keep the goal in mind: getting in. Look at your candidacy, where is your weakness, and address it if you can, now! Show them you care by getting in touch with them. Differentiate yourself by getting in touch with current students, email application offices to ask questions or share your experience talking to those students.

    The point is, if getting into one of your top choice means 3 more months of work, maybe even less, then think about it, it’s worth it to change your life around. You’ll fit in, they have to waitlist some people, there are so many talented, valuable candidates, at some point, some decision has to be made, and sometimes it’s on tiny details. Show them you want to be there is, in my opinion, the one thing you can impact in your application at this point.

    Just my 2 cents… Remain motivated, and know what you want and why you want it.

    I wish you the best.

  9. HappyLibran permalink
    January 16, 2009 5:12 am

    Don’t worry dude. It will be over soon. I can totally understand the pain, and the pain is more when you are trying for both Indian and US school and you do not have luxury of time to wait forever.
    I am sure if you have to go to IIMC, you should be heading off there by Apr 1st week.

    I am in similar situation, though I do not have list of waitlists as you have. But I need to wrap up from US in 2 months and I am still waiting for some more results.

    Good luck.

  10. January 16, 2009 11:12 am

    Thanks BSB! Life is a pack of cards really, and having 4 colored cards is a dream for some! I hope you get those 4 aces in the next few months! Just hang in there and keep trying! May the Poker Gods shower their blessings on you. 🙂

  11. ahembeea permalink*
    January 16, 2009 10:49 pm

    Praz – I’m still working towards that, not the one to give up so easily 🙂

    Isabelle – thx for visiting and sharing your thoughts. They mean a lot.

    Happy – Replied on your blog. Good luck to u as well.

    MBAlmighty – Yup will now need to find solace in Poker! lol

  12. Karan permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:41 pm

    I understand your feelings, as I’m in the same boat..Looking at the numbers Ross has wait listed this time, I feel they are not confident abt themselves. They have a poor yield rate (that’s a good news to us in a way) and just want to make sure they can fill the batch if the numbers do not add up.

Leave a Reply

