Skip to content

Thanks 2008

December 31, 2008

2008 saw me tossing myself head to toe into the application rigmarole for business schools in the US. That isn’t a small feat, considering that the idea seemed preposterous to me as late as March 2008. It didn’t suddenly dawn to me that I should head for an MBA, no sir. Thats been a preoccupation primarily responsible for my 20s turning out the way it has. On one fine day in March 2008, much before this blog was born out of frequent stretches of idleness marked with extreme desperation, I took a decision.

I asked myself two important questions, and pondered a while to arrive at the right answers. Do I really need an MBA ? A resounding yes. Which schools will fulfill my reasons for an MBA ? I looked at the offerings in India, and then I looked at the offerings abroad. The level of excitement in looking at an international MBA was noticeable, and it made me think. About funding, and about what the whole thing would mean for my family. Whether I would be able to manage everything.

Like I said, I took the decision. The rest, as we can see, is yet to be history.

Glancing at my list on the right hand side makes me wonder whether I really did apply to so many schools. 2008 surely kept me busy. And 3 weeks ago I did make it to one of the good Indian MBA programs. So 2009 definitely means I’m quitting everything else to slog my ass out and get that MBA which had been eluding me for years. Which school I go to, and whether I head to the US, is still an open question, not because I need to think twice, but because the admit hasnt yet showed up at my door (or in my mail!). January 2009 would make things clearer. 

Here’s wishing everyone who happens to visit this blog – the regulars, friends, well-wishers, fellow aspirants (both, those in the same boat and those on the admittedly high sailing ship), and even those who choose to remain anonymous – Have a Fantastic, Healthy, and Fun-Filled 2009!!

The tryst continues.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2008 6:22 pm

    Happy New Year to you too buddy! I can so very well identify with you, having made the “decision” as late as May 2008. Anyways, as you so rightly put, “the rest is yet to be history”. Here’s hoping history is truly made in 2009.

  2. Saurabh permalink
    January 2, 2009 10:12 pm

    hey I have been frequently visiting your blog and it’s go to see the spirit going!!! I really wish you all the very bes 2009!! and I hope you make it to the best

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    January 3, 2009 9:03 am

    MBAlmighty – HNY, may 2009 be our year!

    Saurabh – thx for the wishes buddy.

Leave a Reply

