Skip to content

Some luck with Tuck

December 22, 2008

After Dings (with a capital D) without interviews at INSEAD, Wharton, and Duke, it was time for Tuck to do the same. Thankfully, Tuck chose to Waitlist (with a capital W) me.

The process so far has offered many lessons. Here are some of them –

  • Apply only to schools you are really convinced about. Only 3 schools where I had no two minds about applying to were – Kellogg, Ross, and Tuck. These were the schools which fascinated and prompted me to go ahead and take the plunge into the application process. No wonder I have been interviewed by Kellogg and Ross, and waitlisted at Tuck.  With the knowledge that this was the only year when I would be applying, I threw in Wharton, Duke and INSEAD for good measure.
  • The adcom is extremely smart, and generally right. They know a genuinely interested applicant when they see one (I hope) from a not-so-genuinely but interested applicant (I am sure). I was unsure about Wharton, didn’t fit much with INSEAD, applied to Duke more as a ‘safe and realistic’ school. Result – the adcom saw through my applications (I didn’t mask them that well either). I did expect an interview with Duke though, and I hope, just hope, that my honesty in mentioning the other schools that I have applied to in its form was not the reason why it ended the way it did. Forums are abuzz with people who didn’t mention their real choices in the Duke application. I hope the adcom is not just smart, but also right in their discernment.
  • Its not over until its over. In retrospect, I should have applied to only 4 schools – Kellogg, Tuck, Ross, Emory. The game is still on when it comes to all these schools, and I should be happy about that. Otherwise just 2 interviews from half a dozen applications and dings all over was beginning to take its toll.

Coming back to Tuck. Its fair for you to WL me since I wasn’t interviewed, now the onus is on me to show how interested I am. I’m going to do everything I can to convert this waitlist. Would so like to blog as a member of your official blog one day! Wouldn’t an experience with the application process be incomplete without mulling over the strategies to get off the Waitlist ? 🙂

Ok Santa, I know its your time of the year. Go ahead and persuade Kellogg to tell me this week. I have already moved from Dings to Waitlist, and a step further (with a capital A) would be the best way to herald a new year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2008 1:35 pm

    Good to hear. ATB!

  2. December 29, 2008 12:59 pm

    Good lessons learned. Good luck with the Tuck waitlist. For WL tips, please see http://www.accepted.com/newsletter/2004/0304news.aspx#essay or my blog post on Friday (http://accepted.squarespace.com/acceptedcom_blog/2008/12/26/mba-admissions-multiple-acceptances-and-waitlisted.html ).

    Best,
    Linda

  3. December 30, 2008 6:14 am

    Good luck man!…I got waitlisted at Chicago. let the dreams continue…

  4. ahembeea permalink*
    January 3, 2009 8:22 am

    Ashwanth, Jupiter – good luck for your applns. May the new year shower you with admits!

    Linda – thanks for visiting and for the tips.

Leave a Reply

