Skip to content

Ross Interview

November 8, 2008

7th November, 2008 – 8:45 AM EST, Telephonic interview

This is how an interview should be. Like an interview. Allocate a fixed time for everyone, ask them standard questions, see how their replies differ.

I had the standard Ross telephonic interview a few hours back which lasted for exactly 30 minutes. The interviewer was a 2Y student who first introduced himself, and then began with the questions. There were no interruptions and no surprises. It was a very professional interview and I’m happy with my answers and the way I carried it through. It did complement my essays and gave me a chance to speak about almost everything that I was expecting from the interview.

The questions –

– What do you expect to gain from an MBA. (2-3 min)
– What do you know about Ross and speak about your association with the Ross community. (3-4 min)
– Speak about your current role at work.(1-2 min)
– Speak about your experience in managing a team.(2-3 min)
– How would you contribute uniquely at Ross.(3-4 min)
– Talk about a time when a member of your team was not performing and what did you do to rectify that. (2-3 min)
– Your most significant achievement, what skills you brought forward, and what skills do you hope to develop.(4-5 min)
– What is the most difficult feedback that you’ve received (2-3 min)

Thats the entire list of questions. I think I spoke faster than I usually do, but managed to cover every point that I had in mind. We were done in about 22 minutes, and then he asked me whether I have any questions and I asked him 2. I also asked him whether he’s allowed to give any feedback and he said diplomatically that interview is just one component and the candidacy is judged with all the parameters together.

The thing went very fast and I think we raced through the interview. Since I was speaking 99% of the time, there was hardly any time to stop and think since the next question used to pop up immediately. There wasn’t a single question which hasn’t been asked before in other Ross interviews.

I could feel that my voice modulation wasn’t the best at all times, but apart from that I think I handled it well. So there. It either begins or ends my association with Ross, and I’m hopeful it’ll be the former!

Tip – Be well prepared. You know all the questions that can be asked. But it goes at a breakneck speed. And the more questions you can cover the better cos they’re all standard questions and will give them a better idea about you.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Anon permalink
    November 8, 2008 12:19 am

    tryst, it sounds like a great interview.

  2. November 8, 2008 10:54 am

    Great! Thanks for the tips…I will be heading for one soon! ATB for the remaining schools. Hope you get to taste sweet grapes soon…

  3. November 8, 2008 5:30 pm

    Sounds good. hope you make it..
    All the best..

  4. Sushant permalink
    November 9, 2008 10:27 pm

    Hey, Good luck with the results, I had a similar interview on 2 days back, You got any idea when the coming up with results?? The official date is Jan 15th but some ex students tell me they do it on a rolling basis at earlier.. not sure, pls lemme know if you got any clue there!

    I am keeping my fingers crossed for you as well, been following your blog for sometime!! Great help mate, Thank you!

    Sushant

  5. ahembeea permalink*
    November 10, 2008 8:23 am

    Anon, McCoy – thanks. An interview is only as good as the final result:-)

    Maverick – atb. Let us know how it went.

    Sushant – Well the faster I get to know the results, the better it would be. A month is still fine, but I might go insane waiting until 15th Jan!! Good luck !

  6. November 10, 2008 8:54 pm

    Congrats on the successful interview! I’m sure Jan 15 will come before you know it..

  7. November 12, 2008 8:50 am

    Congrats on the interview, and thanks for the insight in the process!

  8. November 16, 2008 2:34 am

    I too was interviewed few days back…very similar.
    Any idea they give more weightage to F2F over telephonic talk or what?…Also any stats on number of ppl interviewed so far.

    Cheers!

  9. ahembeea permalink*
    November 16, 2008 11:04 am

    Jon – thx.

    A – they do say that weightages are the same. No stats but my guess is a lot many have already been interviewed, and a lot many still remain!

  10. Coronet permalink
    November 21, 2008 10:42 am

    Great job! that sounds like a interview well handled! I have one coming up soon… thanks for sharing your experience!
    Btw any idea whether the interviewers have seen your entire application before the interview?

  11. ahembeea permalink*
    November 21, 2008 1:07 pm

    Coronet – I think my interview was purely based on my resume and I didn’t get the feeling that he had been through the entire application, but I didn’t enquire hence I may be wrong.

  12. November 28, 2008 9:35 pm

    I have my Ross interview coming… thanks for tips…

    Raghu

Trackbacks

  1. The Ross Interview… « MBA Miles

Leave a Reply

