Skip to content

ISB Interview

November 4, 2008

ISB Interview, at Taj Bengal, Kolkata – 4th November, 2008

I’ve been to an ISB interview before, and to ISB’s credit I would say that at both times they’ve done a great job at the way they conduct their interviews. Considering the number of people they’re interviewing all across the country, its a pleasure to see the way they’re managing the whole application process.

My interview experience today was undoubtedly my best interview performance till date. I didn’t fumble, falter, ramble, drew blanks, gave stupid answers, etc. – the usual rogues that have troubled me before at one interview or the other. Lets get to the questions first –

Panel of 3. 1, 2, 3.
3 – So tell us about the challenges of leading a team.
3 – Tell us about the core qualities of a high performing team.
1 – How have you grown personally since the last application.
3 – A question about a line in my hobby which she found interesting.
1 – Your immediate post MBA position that you are looking for.
3 – How would your company be affected by the recession.
1 – Why burden urself financially with an MBA at this time.
2 – What feedback did you get reg. your last application.

I think this was it, no more questions. It lasted only 20 min,as they were running late and told me upon entering itself that my interview would be very short, but that doesn’t mean that they aren’t interested in me! Extremely conversational, no grilling at all, no pressure. A very comfortable interview and a very positive one. Will this translate into an admit ? I’ll get to know by 20th November. ISB is now my only hope of pursuing an MBA of my choice if the other B schools decide to admit me without doling out a non-cosignor loan option or something more innovative. And a school that gets me first gets me for good!

The one word essay, the unique ISB interview feature, was on ‘Taunt’. I think I wrote a great piece in about 100 words, but not sure if they read it. Looking back, I think I should have mentioned a couple of strong points today which did not get a mention in the application. But I hope they do a real good job of evaluating a person and become the lucky one by 20th November!! Fingers Crossed.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2008 8:02 pm

    I think they had already framed a good opinion about you and your profile and hence the short interview. Every reason to hope for an admit!

    BTW, what time was your interview?

    Good luck.

    PS: Mine is on the 9th.

  2. anon permalink
    November 5, 2008 2:36 pm

    Tryst you are on roll.
    I am reading my essays, becoming depressed. This I am doing after submitting. May be my essays are not good enough.

  3. November 6, 2008 12:29 am

    Sounds like interviewer #2 was the quiet, serious one…
    Congrats again.

  4. ahembeea permalink*
    November 6, 2008 8:37 am

    Ashwanth – my interview was during the lunch hour.

    Anon – You know what to do if you feel your essays aren’t good enough – keep writing until u like them!

    Matt – thanks Matt. He definitely was, and he was the one who was grilling everyone who went in before me!

  5. anon permalink
    November 6, 2008 10:08 am

    Dont tell me that. I already submitted 😦

  6. Latha permalink
    December 15, 2008 5:24 pm

    I am R2 applicant of ISB 2009-2010.I have decent acads/extra curricular and around 3.5 years Work Experience in reputated MNCs.Have around 8 mnths International Exposure.BUt my GMAT score is 650..:( do I stand anywhere?

  7. ahembeea permalink*
    December 15, 2008 6:15 pm

    Latha – Let ISB decide that for you, now that you’ve already applied. You can always consider taking the GMAT again and reaching a score where the 😦 turns into a 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Fridays From The Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog
  2. Indian School Of Business, Hyderabad- An Insight - TotalGadha GMAT

Leave a Reply

