Skip to content

Applications done

October 21, 2008

I just submitted Duke, and with that, hopefully, all B school applications ever in my life. The next 2 months will decide where i’m headed, or how I’m beheaded.

A lot of questions surface. Did I select the right schools? Were my essays really my best, and would they be good enough? Were the last few months really worth it?

I need a vindication. Badly.

I had this day in mind when I had begun the arduous journey. How happy I’d be when I’d be done with all my applications! Surprisingly, there are too many thoughts gnawing at that supposed joy.

In bits, we find and lose ourselves through every application. Its not just the last few months spent in paraphrasing ourselves. Our whole life until now has come to this singular point where it all ends. Either to rise and begin again. Or.

—-

Bring the interviews on.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Musings permalink
    October 21, 2008 10:52 pm

    “Hope to Joy is More in Joy than Hope Enjoyed.”

    I’m sure this wont be the case with you.Gear up to enjoy the time of your life dude!

  2. October 21, 2008 11:22 pm

    Congrats on submitting your final apps!

    I am fretting, too, although not so much about my school choices (there’s always R2, after all, if the right interviews don’t roll in) but about what internship and post-MBA will look like. My wife is moving to a different city and starting work next fall as I begin my MBA someplace else, so I’m left wondering where we’re going to be when I finish, how our plans to move back to the Midwest will work out, etc.

    I suspect we’ll all turn out ok, though. 🙂 There’s a ton of interesting work out there, even if it doesn’t wind up fitting our expectations at the moment.

    Best of luck!

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    October 21, 2008 11:51 pm

    Musings – thanks as always.

    Chris – similarly for me, a lot depends on this decision reg. where me and my wife would end up, hence the faster the uncertainty clears, the better it is 🙂
    Atb to you, and like you said, we’ll all turn out ok 🙂

  4. October 22, 2008 12:01 am

    no no NO!!! 😛 Don’t post such things like “Applications done”… makes me feel like the king of ultra-procrastinators! 😛 … have beer and celebrate! and all the best for the road ahead

  5. adekku permalink
    October 22, 2008 6:56 pm

    Application done? Wow! I salute you!! Just like Pramod puts it: makes me feel like the queen of ultra-procrastinators 😀

  6. October 22, 2008 9:28 pm

    gr8….

    eight applications in round one…..

    an achievement indeed!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. ahembeea permalink*
    October 23, 2008 8:25 am

    Pramod & Adekku – I’m sure you’d end up as a king and queen respectively when the decisions roll out 🙂 Atb!

    Leoneidas – agree that its some achievement, if I look back at how enormous the task appeared 3 months ago.

  8. October 23, 2008 7:52 pm

    Congrats!
    Now to relax until interview time… : )

  9. October 28, 2008 12:10 pm

    Ahembeea,

    Have you heard from ISB or Ross?

    Regards,
    Ashwanth

  10. ahembeea permalink*
    October 28, 2008 10:58 pm

    Thanks Matt.

    Ashwanth – check out my latest post. Whats the update from your side ?

Leave a Reply

