Skip to content

Wharton Out, Cambridge In

August 11, 2008

Cambridge Judge school in UK makes a new entry in my list. It has edged out Wharton. If I can put a finger on reasons for this last minute change in the list, I would cite the following –
– I was not sure of having 2 colleges from the TOP5 in my list, so had to make a choice between Kellogg and Wharton. Selected Kellogg as it definitely appealed more to me than Wharton. Kellogg is more in line with my other choices of Tuck, Ross & Duke.
– I probably chickened out when it came to Wharton, driven more by better chances of making the cut rather than choosing the better school.
– The ‘fit’ element, or call it my gut feeling, suggested that I choose Kellogg over Wharton. I absolutely love the programme at Kellogg, so just could not get it off my list.
– Had initially thought of keeping 5 US schools in my list, but ended up with 4. Have kept Darden & Johnson for R2. Would have brought in UCLA in my list, had it not been for their insistence on TOEFL.
– To hedge my risks and chances, I brought in the Cambridge Judge 1 year MBA from UK, as the curriculum is very impressive and meets all my reasons for pursuing an MBA. I wouldn’t say that its easier to get into Judge than Wharton, but I’m more comfortable with this list than the previous one.

Folks, please comment if you see a flaw in my reasoning and if you have any valuable suggestions.

As for the progress, I have jotted down all the essays on a single page, and am accustoming my mind by viewing them regularly. Yet to make a beginning. The pressure is mounting with every day that goes by, but I’m confident that I’ll end up with proper essays. As an excuse, I’m writing this post when I should be outlining my essays.

Won’t be wrong to call it the foreplay mode. I think I’m waiting for the pressure to charge me up to the point where the essays come right out.

—–

Update on 8th Sept 08 – Wharton is back in my list, have shifted Cambridge to R2.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. mbanemo permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:11 am

    Thats quite an analysis…. You wont be surprised how the essays and work pressure will shape the list in near future… 🙂 Good luck

  2. missionmba permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:27 am

    Hehhe!!
    And just the last post was titled “My List (final)” 😀

    BTW< am also in the same boat.. Have not yet started even the first draft of my first essay.. Though I keep on thinking about the topics 24X7.. At times, I feel that in my mind, I’ve the complete essay ready!!
    But then, when I open MS Word, I again draw a complete blank!! 😦

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    August 12, 2008 10:50 am

    Mbanemo – I can’t help but agree with you. Seems you’ve been down the road already !

    Mission – Ditto for me. I hope to begin ‘today’. Thats quite a progress, considering I’ve come down from ‘tommorrow’ to ‘today’ !

Leave a Reply

