Skip to content

Reliance Stanford Scholarship – dud

August 4, 2008

I’m not one of the 50 finalists.

The criteria mentions merit, commitment to developing India, and financial need.

So either I am not meritorious enough, or my essay failed to shape India the way that was desired, or I earn too much to qualify under financial need.

Or maybe a mix of all 🙂

Good luck to those who have been selected. Please share your profile for the sake of everyone else.

PS – I like the FAQs attached with the rejection note !

So Stanford is out of my list. I’ll post my final list by the end of this week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2008 11:33 am

    You too out!! 😦
    Do you know anyone who is through??

  2. ahembeea permalink*
    August 4, 2008 1:11 pm

    @mission – No I haven’t found any finalist yet. Either none of them are associated with the blogosphere, or are basking silently in their moment of glory 🙂

  3. August 4, 2008 3:09 pm

    I guess quite a few of us completely overlooked the “Financial Need” criteria…

    Only one blogger had highlighted the possibility of big chunk of applicants being eliminated on the basis of financial need criteria…

    http://jc-4mba.blogspot.com/2008/07/reliance-stanford-gsb-scholarship-for.html

  4. ahembeea permalink*
    August 4, 2008 5:55 pm

    I would like to know about at least one candidate who’s been successful.
    Leoneidas – I shudder at the thought by which jc-4mba ends his post. Will be glad to know that there are at least 50 applicants poorer than me!

  5. Sachin permalink
    August 7, 2008 2:44 pm

    I am not sure if you have read this. He is one of the finalists

    http://stairwaytomba.blogspot.com/2008/08/crossed-first-hurdle-before-mountain.html

  6. paraschopra permalink
    August 12, 2008 7:35 am

    I am selected too!!

  7. ahembeea permalink*
    August 12, 2008 10:48 am

    Dear Stairway & Paras and everyone else who has been selected (there’s one person more who I know has qualified), good luck to all of you. May you all get the chance to realize the dream and come back to India to shape its future.
    I’m sure we’ll get to see you on the news channels once you make the final cut of 5 !!

  8. August 13, 2008 1:46 am

    Hi there,
    I am just curious,
    Can you post the FAQ that is attached with the rejection note?
    You can mail it to me if you dont want to publish it.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

