Skip to content

Reliance Stanford scholarship – v.3 – submitted

July 14, 2008

I reached a new level of low last week (if you’ve seen my previous post). Its time to bounce back and take control once again. As a first step, I submitted the Reliance Stanford Scholarship a couple of hours ago. The 1 page resume looks decent. The essay sounds unrealistic, but can we think of shaping India’s future without getting unrealistic ?

I’m also done with the IIMC PGPEX essays, just need to get the application together by this week, and complete the online submission of IIMA PGPX details, before I take a small break. I’m too excited about the next 2 weeks as its going to be a major event in my life. More on it when I’m back !

Writing a proper essay takes a lot of time and energy, and I found that I’m not able to do justice to any essay if I begin writing it towards the evening, after I return home from my work. That leaves me with only weekends (which are already extremely hectic), or early mornings. So I need to devote quality time to all my further essays and finish outlining them by end of August. Considering 10 schools = approximately 30 essays, thats a major uphill task for me, keeping in mind the added pressure I’ll have on the family front going forward. So its got to be my hours in office which need to be put to good service in refining all these essays.

The whole year will go away in essays; but I’m ready, bring them on.

An absolute pain for me is getting the recommendation letters. Asking the same person for 10 different recommendation letters is a major headache. When the B schools can share the scores from a single GMAT exam, as well as use the same ApplyYourself application software, what prevents them from making the job easier for everyone involved by making the essays and recommendations centralized as well ? It should work similar to the way you select schools to which scores are sent after GMAT.

Have a centralized application process. The applicants do not need to fill in their same details n number of times. Have a common pool of essays for all schools, and maybe one additional essay per school that you wish to apply. It means that we fill up a single common application, and then select the schools to which we intend to apply, and then complete the respective 1-2 additional essays for that school. Why waste the recommender’s time in doling out more and more nonsense about us everytime ? They write once, and the same gets sent to all schools on our list.

Anyway, there’s no point in discussing this, as thats the way this market behaves. Lets work according to the way it works and beat the competition flat.

In the meantime, atb to fellow applicants. Take care.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2008 3:47 pm

    Hey,

    A lot in common… can you please mail me your id..perhaps a number on which i can get in touch with you.

    Take Care,

  2. John permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:54 am

    Hi

    Rise of the phoenix..that is all i can say after reading this post.

    🙂
    Keep it going

    I hv just started with “Why MBA and why Now”…

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    July 15, 2008 10:50 am

    A – you can buzz me via the window available in the right sidebar, I’m online most of the time.

    John – thx. Do you plan to ‘document’ your journey :-). If yes, please leave a trail whenever you visit again. Good luck !

  4. August 2, 2008 2:30 am

    did you hear from the reliance guys? the deadline for posting the results is today,… right?

    a

  5. battle for mba permalink
    August 2, 2008 2:38 pm

    please let me know the way to view 50 finalist of reliance dhirubhai fellowship?

  6. August 2, 2008 3:04 pm

    I got email from reliance confirming i was dinged. They have the link to your app in the email and it shows result there. I dont think it shows you all the finalists.

  7. Giridhar Kalidasu permalink
    August 2, 2008 4:58 pm

    I got mail from Reliance that mine was not considered. They got 1400 applications and they choose 50 among these.

    The criteria they mentioned are:
    merit, commitment to India, and financial need.

    So, probably I could not project my case properly.

    How about others?

  8. Rahul permalink
    August 5, 2008 4:56 pm

    I wanted to know 1 thing that have nebody tried applying to stanford mba program through that ApplyYourself application.I tried applying with same pin and password as reliance fellowship for stanford mba application and could login.I ask this because they had said that if u r selected as finalist,then our fellowship application would be linked to the stanford application.so guys just try with ur fellowship pin and password and try login for ur stanford mba application.and update your experience.

  9. ahembeea permalink*
    August 5, 2008 6:54 pm

    Rahul – afaik, the apply yourself credentials remain the same across all applications. So not just Stanford, if you were to try logging in for Harvard or any other school, it should work for that as well !

  10. Roahni permalink
    June 23, 2009 9:28 pm

    wait u got into college i mean stanfors

  11. July 1, 2009 5:38 pm

    Any news of this years results?? The finalists are supposed to be notified today. Do post a comment if anyone gets any news about the same.

Leave a Reply

