Skip to content

Short list v.3 – getting there

June 30, 2008
tags:

Probably every applicant goes through this cycle. Of trying to see where one fits best. My previous post was a result of a mix of emotions at not being able to decide conclusively, and 2 days later I suddenly got the answer. Its the resident voice that made the choice for me.(At the cost of sounding cliche` 🙂 )

I do not have specific reasons for this list. Lets just say that these choices resonate with me more than the others. I did have the realization though that I should not, and will not, apply to any ‘SAFE’ school. The whole process is about choosing the direction of your life, and there’s no point in becoming defensive. If there’s the belief in me which lets me select a ‘stretch’ school, why should I go ahead and ditch this belief by saying I wanna play safe as well?

My short list, and hopefully final –

Chicago
Wharton
Kellogg
Haas
Tuck
Ross
Duke

Thanks to everyone who chose to comment on my last post. I end the month of June with the decision to not spend any further energy in school selection and instead focus on the essays and application. Its going to be a long and interesting journey ahead. All the best to my fellow applicants !

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2008 9:13 pm

    Dude, your list is almost identical to mine! Actually, I’ve got CBS in place of Tuck and TBD school instead of Ross. Have you started tackling Kellogg’s essays yet?

  2. June 30, 2008 9:56 pm

    Where your list differs from mine is where i decided to darw the line on the number of applications I was going to do. I think i’ll add darden to my list though…..

  3. ahembeea permalink*
    July 1, 2008 12:01 am

    @Soni – new month, new beginning ! Am yet to begin the application or the essays. We still have a few months to go, no ?!
    @Starwalker – left a comment on your blog. It won’t be surprising when the result of the above poll will show us a lot of other applicants with identical lists.

  4. July 1, 2008 12:56 am

    That’s a good list – and a lot of overlap with mine. Best of luck!

  5. ahembeea permalink*
    July 1, 2008 8:13 am

    Thx Mike. I can see from your blog that you’ve been down the road before. All the best this time !!

  6. Josh Hohman permalink
    July 12, 2008 2:18 am

    Hello, Ahembeea, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. Your short list (v3) of school is interesting. I applied to 6 school in the first round a few years back, so I know the work you are going to go through over the next few months. Fuqua is a fantastic school, and is vastly underrated in my opinion. I loved my visit there, and was ready to go there until I won the lottery (or at least it felt like it) and got accepted to Stanford. Best of luck to you!

    I’ve got some information that might be helpful for you and your readers.

    I’m a 2005 graduate of the Stanford GSB. A couple of weeks ago, I surveyed my classmates from Stanford, as well as friends and colleagues from Kellogg, Harvard, and Columbia business schools, and have compiled the results into an ebook. I had a lot more responses than I expected, so the ebook turned out to be over 80 pages!

    I would really appreciate it if you could write a short blog post about the ebook with a link to http://www.ExpertCollective.com. Of course, it all depends on what you think of my ebook, so let me know if you’re interested in receiving a copy to review, and I’ll email it out to you.

    Let me know if I can ever be of any help, or if ever need a contact within the Stanford alumni network – I’d be glad to help out. I feel like I won the lottery getting into Stanford, and I’m always happy to help a future MBA out.

    All the best,
    Josh Hohman
    josh.hohman@gmail.com
    http://www.ExpertCollective.com

Trackbacks

  1. Fridays From the Frontline » Clear Admit: MBA Admissions Consultants Blog

Leave a Reply

